Tuesday, September 8, 2015

The Sisters of Versailles by Sally Christie

Sally Christie

on Tour

August 31 – September 9

with

sisters of versailles

The Sisters of Versailles

(historical fiction)

Release date: September 1, 2015
at Atria Book/Simon & Schuster

432 pages

ISBN: 978-1501102967


Website | Goodreads




SYNOPSIS

A sumptuous and sensual tale of power, romance, family, and betrayal centered around four sisters and one King. Carefully researched and ornately detailed, The Sisters of Versailles is the first book in an exciting new historical fiction trilogy about King Louis XV, France’s most “well-beloved” monarch, and the women who shared his heart and his bed.
Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters—Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne—four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail.
Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and her sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power.
The Sisters of Versailles is a treat through and through – the characters are witty and engaging and come together to create an undeniable page-turner. Sally Christie has a wonderful sense of pace and the book unfolds in front of you like a delicious gift. Even as the scandals pile up and the intrigue mounts, you can’t help but fall in love with these sisters and their competing infatuations with the King.
In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.
My Review:
Five Stars
Copy received from France Book Tours for an honest review
I've heard so much about "The Sisters of Versailles" by Sally Christie I was worried my expectations would not live up to reality.  I was hooked from the first page. Loved learning about the French court and especially these Five sisters were captivating and I was interested to learn about them.  King Louis XV was equally as interesting and it was refreshing to learn about him and the time period.  First, I was interested to see how the sisters related to each other and added to that was the intensity of having the same lover!  Hortense was fascinating. I loved hearing her voice and the story told from her perspective. I really liked that the author decided to start the series from her perspective since she was the only one that did not become a mistress to the king.  I'm hooked and I cannot wait to read more!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sally Christie was born in England of British parents
and grew up around the world,
attending eight schools in three languages.
She spent most of her career working in international development
and is currently settled in Toronto.
A life-long history buff who wishes time travel were a real possibility
—she’d be off to the eighteenth century in a flash!
The Sisters of Versailles is her first novel.

Learn more about the sisters and the mistresses in the Versailles trilogy on her website
Become a fan to hear about her next novels!

Check her Pinterest page

Follow Simon & Schuster on Twitter and Facebook

***

Enter the global giveaway here.
Be sure to follow each participant on Twitter/Facebook,
they are listed in the entry form below
.

Enter here

Visit each blogger on the tour:
tweeting about the giveaway everyday
of the Tour will give you 5 extra entries each time!
[just follow the directions on the entry-form]
Global giveaway open to US/Canada residents:
5 participants will each win a print copy of this book.
***

CLICK ON THE BANNER
TO READ OTHER REVIEWS, EXCERPT, GUEST-POST

isters of Versailles banner