Tuesday, June 24, 2014

HFVBT Presents Antonia Hodgon’s The Devil in the Marshalsea Blog Tour, June 10-July 11

 photo 1cc7f162-33d5-45ed-86e5-919d8a69316f.png
Tour Hashtag: #DevilintheMarshalSeaTour
Publication Date: June 10, 2014
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Formats: eBook, Paperback
Add to GR Button
Thrilling new historical fiction starring a scoundrel with a heart of gold and set in the darkest debtors’ prison in Georgian London, where people fall dead as quickly as they fall in love and no one is as they seem.
It’s 1727. Tom Hawkins is damned if he’s going to follow in his father’s footsteps and become a country parson. Not for him a quiet life of prayer and propriety. His preference is for wine, women, and cards. But there’s a sense of honor there too, and Tom won’t pull family strings to get himself out of debt—not even when faced with the appalling horrors of London’s notorious debtors’ prison: The Marshalsea Gaol.
Within moments of his arrival in the Marshalsea, Hawkins learns there’s a murderer on the loose, a ghost is haunting the gaol, and that he’ll have to scrounge up the money to pay for his food, bed, and drink. He’s quick to accept an offer of free room and board from the mysterious Samuel Fleet—only to find out just hours later that it was Fleet’s last roommate who turned up dead. Tom’s choice is clear: get to the truth of the murder—or be the next to die.
The Devil in the Marshalsea
My review:
Five Stars
*Copy received from Historical Fiction Virtual Tours for an honest review.review AND giveaway at http://booknerdloleotodo.blogspot.com
This was such a fantastic read! Antonia Hodgson really makes a name for herself in “The Devil in the Marshalsea”.  The writing if fantastic.  The story intertwines very smoothly and the plot is fantastic! The very first pages of the story are attention grabbing, I wanted to finish this book in one sitting but that would have been impossible.  The Marshalsea goal was really an interesting place… I felt the same when I visited Alcatraz… you know it’s (was) a terrible place but you can’t help but be fascinated with all the stories that surround it.  The same occurred with the Marshalsea prison.  It was really a terrible place but so fascinating.  The main character Tom Hawkins is a typical anti-hero.  He is wild and refuses to follow the rules of society.  When Tom finds himself in this prison many different elements of his character begin to show.  Although at the beginning it was easy to write him off as a man of no character or principal.  The mystery surrounding the killer was also fantastic.  The writing was very subtle and so were the clues.  Our unconventional hero must find out who the killer is if he has any hope or claiming his freedom.  This was a highly enjoyable novel and incredibly well written! 


Praise for The Devil in the Marshalsea

“Hodgson…conjures up scenes of Dickensian squalor and marries them to a crackerjack plot, in her impressive first novel…Hodgson makes the stench, as well as the despair, almost palpable, besides expertly dropping fair clues. Fans of Iain Pears and Charles Palliser will hope for a sequel.” –Publishers Weekly (STARRED REVIEW)
“The plot develops almost as many intricate turns as there are passages in the Marshalsea…Hodgson’s plotting is clever…the local color hair-raising.” –Kirkus Reviews
“Satisfyingly twisty debut thriller…so well detailed that one can almost smell the corruption, and the irrepressibly roguish Tom makes a winning hero.” —Booklist
“Historical fiction just doesn’t get any better than this. A riveting, fast-paced story…Magnificent!” —Jeffery Deaver, author of the bestselling The Kill Room and Edge
“Antonia Hodgson’s London of 1727 offers that rare achievement in historical fiction: a time and place suspensefully different from our own, yet real. The Devil in the Marshalsea reminds us at every turn that we ourselves may not have evolved far from its world of debtors and creditors, crime and generosity, appetite and pathos. A damn’d good read.” —Elizabeth Kostova, author of The Historian and The Swan Thieves
“A wonderfully convincing picture of the seamier side of 18th-century life. The narrative whips along. Antonia Hodgson has a real feel for how people thought and spoke at the time—and, God knows, that’s a rare talent.” —Andrew Taylor, author of An Unpardonable Crime and The Four Last Things

Buy the Book

About the Author

Antonia Hodgson is the editor in chief of Little, Brown UK. She lives in London and can see the last fragments of the old city wall from her living room. The Devil in the Marshalsea is her first novel.
For more information please visit Antonia Hodgson’s website. You can also find her on Goodreads and Twitter.
Antonia Hodgson

The Devil in the Marshalsea Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, June 10
Review at Flashlight Commentary
Tuesday, June 11
Interview at Flashlight Commentary
Wednesday, June 12
Spotlight & Giveaway at Passages to the Past
Monday, June 16
Guest Post & Giveaway at Let Them Read Books
Friday, June 20
Interview at Reading the Past
Monday, June 23
Guest Post at Kinx’s Book Nook
Wednesday, June 25
Review & Giveaway at Book Nerd
Monday, June 30
Interview at Caroline Wilson Writes
Tuesday, July 1
Review at Mina’s Bookshelf
Thursday, July 3
Review at A Bibliotaph’s Reviews
Monday, July 7
Review & Giveaway at 100 Pages a Day
Tuesday, July 8
Review & Giveaway at The True Book Addict
Wednesday, July 9
Spotlight at Layered Pages
Friday, July 11
Review at Princess of Eboli
Spotlight & Giveaway at Historical Fiction Connection